Skip to Content

For Immediate Release

Nomination period opens for Nov. 8 General Election

SANTA ROSA, CA | July 15, 2022

En español »

Candidate nominations open on Monday, July 18, for various local school, municipal and special district offices scheduled to be on the ballot on Nov. 8, 2022. Candidates residing in Sonoma County who are interested in running for any of the more than 225 available positions must file nomination papers between July 18 and Aug. 12 in order to have their names placed on the Nov. 8 ballot.  

If nomination papers for an incumbent elective office of a district are not filed by 5 p.m. on Aug. 12, candidates other than the incumbent shall have until 5 p.m. on Aug. 17 to file for the elective office. 

For a comprehensive list of all offices up for election in November, please visit and click on the Nov. 8, 2022, General Election link. Districts with seats open include the following:  

School Offices 

County Boards of Education: Sonoma County Board of Education Trustee Areas 2 and 4. 

Community College Governing Boards: Sonoma County Junior College District Trustee Areas 1 (East County), 2 (South County), 5 (Central Santa Rosa) and 7 (West County). 

Unified School District Governing Boards: Calistoga Joint Unified School District; Cloverdale Unified School District; Cotati-Rohnert Park Unified School District Trustee Areas 1, 2, and 4; Geyserville Unified School District; Healdsburg Unified School District; *Sonoma Valley Unified School District Trustee Areas 1 and 2; and Windsor Unified School District. 

*Important Note: Although Shoreline Unified School District Areas 1 and 2 are up for election in November, Sonoma County residents cannot file for these positions because they are not located in Sonoma County. 

High School District Governing Boards: City of Santa Rosa High School District Trustee Areas 2, 4, and 6; Petaluma Joint Union High School District Trustee Areas 2, 3, and 5†; Point Arena Joint Union High School District; and West Sonoma County Union High School District At-Large and Trustee Areas 1, 3, and 5. 

Elementary School District Governing Boards: Alexander Valley Union School District; Bellevue Union School District; Bennett Valley Union School District; Cinnabar School District; Dunham School District; Forestville Union School District; Fort Ross School District; Gravenstein Union School District; Guerneville School District; Harmony Union School District; Horicon School District; Kashia School District; Kenwood School District; Laguna Joint School District; Liberty School District; Mark West Union School District; Monte Rio Union School District; Montgomery School District; Oak Grove Union School District; Old Adobe Union School District; Piner-Olivet Union School District; Rincon Valley Union School District; Roseland School District; Sebastopol Union School District; Twin Hills Union School District; Two Rock Union School District; Waugh School District; West Side Union School District; Wilmar Union School District; and Wright School District.  

Municipal Offices 

Cities/Towns: Cloverdale City Council; Cloverdale Treasurer; Cotati City Council; Healdsburg City Council; Petaluma Mayor; Petaluma City Council Districts 1, 2, and 3; Rohnert Park City Council Districts 1, 2, and 5; Santa Rosa City Council Districts 2, 3, 4, and 6; Sebastopol City Council; Sonoma City Council; Windsor Mayor; and Windsor Town Council Districts 1, 2, and 4. 

Special District Offices 

Community Services Districts: Cazadero Community Services District, Graton Community Services District. 

Fire Protection Districts: Cloverdale Fire Protection District; Gold Ridge Fire Protection District; Graton Fire Protection District; Kenwood Fire Protection District; Monte Rio Fire Protection District; North Sonoma Coast Fire Protection District; Northern Sonoma County Fire Protection District; Rancho Adobe Fire Protection District; Schell-Vista Fire Protection District; Sonoma County Fire District; Sonoma Valley Fire District; and Timber Cove Fire Protection District. 

Health Care Districts: Cloverdale Health Care District; North Sonoma County Healthcare District; Petaluma Health Care District; and Sonoma Valley Health Care District. 

Life Support Districts: Coast Life Support District.  

Water Districts: Forestville Water District; North Marin Water District Division 5†, Sweetwater Springs Water District; and Valley of the Moon Water District. 

Candidates for city or town offices must obtain and file nomination papers with the appropriate city or town clerk. Candidates for school and special district offices must obtain and file nomination papers at the Sonoma County Registrar of Voters Office at 435 Fiscal Drive in Santa Rosa, with two exceptions (identified by † above):  

- Candidates for Petaluma Joint Union High School District must obtain and file their nomination papers with the Petaluma City Clerk’s Office at 11 English St., Petaluma. Call (707) 778-4360 or email for further details. 

- Candidates for the North Marin Water District must obtain and file their nomination papers with the Marin County Elections Department at 3501 Civic Center Drive Suite 121, San Rafael. Call (415) 473-6456 or email for further details. 

Candidates filing at the Sonoma County Registrar of Voters Office may obtain further information by visiting and clicking on the Candidate Filing menu item on the left, calling (707) 565-6808 or emailing

For election or voting information unrelated to candidate nominations, please go to the Sonoma County Registrar of Voters website at, call (707) 565-6800, email, or visit the Sonoma County Registrar of Voters Office in person at 435 Fiscal Dr., Santa Rosa. 

Contact Information:
Wendy Hudson
Chief Deputy Registrar of Voters
(707) 565-6800