Skip to Content

Information Systems Department

Information Management Division - Web Standards

Web Standards & Guidelines

Webstandards banner 750

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 state that the government’s electronic information must be accessible to people with disabilities

The current standard includes Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.1, Level AA June 2018.​UB8A-GG2F. WCAG 2.1 was updated in 2023, but this rule is in conformance to the 2018 version.

The policy, standards and best practices published in this site are effective immediately. These standards and guidelines are required for all new sites and existing sites undergoing significant redesign efforts published after June 15, 2010. 

The purpose of this site is to provide procedures, guidelines and remediation techniques for content editors, website designers and third party vendors to reference while updating and maintaining the County of Sonoma websites.

These standards and guidelines are designed to ensure consistency across web pages in each department and permit the County of Sonoma web site to achieve the highest degree of usability, accessibility and quality.

Content providers are responsible for posting and maintaining timely and accurate information within their assigned areas of the County of Sonoma websites. Each content provider is responsible for abiding by the established website design, image and hyperlink standards to ensure a consistent look and feel across all pages and ease of use for site visitors.