Skip to Content
County Administrator's Office

Sonoma County added to Federal Major Disaster Declaration for Glass Fire

Published: October 23, 2020

On October 22, 2020, Governor Gavin Newsom announced that three additional counties – Napa, Shasta and Sonoma – had been added to the Major Disaster Declaration, initially approved by The White House on October 16, 2020, to bolster the state’s emergency response to wildfires across the state and support impacted residents.

A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration helps people in the impacted counties through eligibility for support including crisis counseling, housing and unemployment assistance and legal services. It also provides federal assistance to help state, tribal and local governments fund emergency response, recovery and protective measures.

With the federal declaration, the County of Sonoma will request that FEMA stand up a Mobile Registration Intake Center (MRIC) where those impacted by the Glass Fire will be able to register for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program to access disaster benefits.

More information about the Major Disaster Declaration