Registrar of Voters office
For Immediate Release

Nomination Period Opens for November 3, 2020, Consolidated General Election

Santa Rosa, CA  –  July 13, 2020  –  Nominations opened today for municipal offices as well as school and special district governing board seats scheduled for election on Nov. 3, 2020.  According to County Clerk Deva Marie Proto, candidates interested in running for any of the more than 200 positions whose terms expire this year must file nomination papers between July 13 and Aug. 7 in order to have their names placed on the Nov. 3 ballot. If nomination papers for an incumbent elective officer of the district are not filed by 5 p.m. on Aug. 7, candidates other than the incumbent have until 5 p.m. on Aug. 12 to file for the elective office.

Districts with seats open include the following:

County Boards of Education:  Sonoma County Board of Education Areas 1, 3, & 5; Marin County Board of Education Area 7; and Napa County Board of Education Area 7.

Community College Governing Boards:  Sonoma County Junior College District Cloverdale-Geyserville-Healdsburg Area and Santa Rosa Area; and Napa Valley College District Area 7.

Unified School District Governing Boards: Calistoga Joint Unified School District; Cloverdale Unified School District; Cotati-Rohnert Park Unified School District Areas 3 and 5; Geyserville Unified School District;  Healdsburg Unified School District; Shoreline Unified School District Trustee Area 3; Sonoma Valley Unified School District Trustee Areas 3, 4, and 5; and Windsor Unified School District.

High School District Governing Boards:  City of Santa Rosa High School District Trustee Areas 1, 3, 5, and 7; Petaluma Joint Union High School District; Point Arena Joint Union High/Arena Union School District; and West Sonoma County Union High School District.

Elementary School District Governing Boards:  Alexander Valley Union School District; Bellevue Union School District; Bennett Valley Union School District; Cinnabar School District; Dunham School District; Forestville Union School District; Fort Ross School District; Gravenstein Union School District; Guerneville School District; Harmony Union School District; Horicon School District; Kashia School District; Kenwood School District; Laguna Joint School District; Liberty School District; Lincoln Union School District; Mark West Union School District; Monte Rio Union School District; Montgomery School District; Oak Grove Union School District; Old Adobe Union School District; Piner-Olivet Union School District; Rincon Valley Union School District; Roseland School District; Sebastopol Union School District; Twin Hills Union School District; Two Rock Union School District; Waugh School District; West Side Union School District; Wilmar Union School District; and Wright School District.

Cities/Towns:  Cloverdale City Council; Cotati City Council; Healdsburg City Council; Petaluma City Council; Rohnert Park City Council Districts 1, 3, and 4; Santa Rosa City Council Districts 1, 3, 5, and 7; Sebastopol City Council; Sonoma City Council; Windsor Mayor; and Windsor Town Council District 3.

Coast Life Support District: Coast Life Support District.

Community Services Districts:  Cazadero Community Services District.

Fire Protection Districts:  Bodega Bay Fire Protection District; Cloverdale Fire Protection District; Forestville Fire Protection District; Gold Ridge Fire Protection District; Graton Fire Protection District; Kenwood Fire Protection District; Monte Rio Fire Protection District; North Sonoma Coast Fire Protection District; Northern Sonoma County Fire Protection District; Rancho Adobe Fire Protection District; Schell-Vista Fire Protection District; Sonoma County Fire Protection District; Timber Cove Fire Protection District; and Valley of the Moon Fire Protection District.

Health Care Districts:  Cloverdale Health Care District; North Sonoma County Healthcare District; Palm Drive Health Care District; Petaluma Health Care District; and Sonoma Valley Health Care District.

Water Districts:  North Marin Water District, Sweetwater Springs Water District; and Valley of the Moon Water District.                                                

All candidates for local district offices may obtain and file their nomination papers with the Sonoma County Registrar of Voters Office, 435 Fiscal Drive, Santa Rosa -- except for (1) candidates for the Petaluma Joint Union High School District, who must file with the City Clerk of Petaluma, and (2) candidates for the North Marin Water District, who must file with the Marin County Elections Department.

Note that, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, in-person office hours will be significantly reduced. Therefore, it is highly recommended that anybody interested in becoming a candidate either call (707) 565-6800 or email to schedule an appointment. Additional information about the filing process is available on the Sonoma County Registrar of Voters website at


Contact Information

Wendy Hudson

Chief Deputy Registrar

Registrar of Voters Office

County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor


Registrar of Voters

435 Fiscal Drive

Santa Rosa, CA 95403
38.4657357, -122.7251823

Mailing Address

Mailing Address
PO Box 11485
Santa Rosa, CA 95406-1485