Skip to Content

Recorder Fee Schedule

Document Recording

Important Notice

Important Information 75x40  The staff of the Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office are forbidden by California legal codes to practice law or provide legal advice; this prohibition includes giving advice about what forms you might need or how you should fill them out.

Notes

  • The standard page size for copying is 11 by 17 inches or smaller
  • For recording purposes, a standard page is one printed side of a single 8½ by 11 inch sheet (in other words, two printed sides of a single sheet equal two standard pages); if a document incorporates a second title, it is called a "double document"
  • A document or copy is certified as authentic when it receives the Stamp of the Recorder's Office
  • If there is not enough room for the Recorder's endorsement (approximately 3 inches by 3 inches) at the top of the first page of any document being recorded, an additional $3.00 fee will be charged to cover a separate page
  • Documents to be recorded are required to be 8½ by 11 inches; documents you wish to record having other dimensions are subject to a penalty of $3.00 per page
  • If a Preliminary Change of Ownership Report (PCOR) does not accompany transfers of title, an additional fee of $20.00 is added to the recording fee
  • Information about the Monument Fee Collection Procedures

Copy Fees

 Service  Fee
Standard Printed Pages (up to 11" x 17")
[Government Code § 27366]
$5.00 per page
Emailed file (1964-present) *
*documents must be 10 pages or less.
$6.00 per document
Emailed file (pre-1964) $6.00 per page
Online purchased via Sonoma County Document Records Search (1964-present) $4.00 per document
Certification
[Government Code § 27364]
$4.00 per document
Maps
[Government Code § 27366]
$5.00 per page

Recording Fees

Effective July 1, 2022, pursuant to California Government Code section 27388.2 (AB1466 - Restrictive Covenant Modification Program Plan) documents accepted for recording at the Sonoma County Recorder's Office will be charged an additional two dollars ($2.00) fee per title, unless exempted by statute.

Effective January 1, 2018, California Government Code section 27388.1 (SB2 – Building Homes and Jobs Act) requires that documents accepted for recording at the Sonoma County Recorder’s Office be charged an additional seventy-five dollars ($75.00) fee per title, unless exempted by statute.

Read more about the fee increase including exemptions

Service Fee
Standard Pages (8½ x 11)  
No Documentary Transfer Tax, SB2 fee exemption, or AB1466  fee exemption
[Government Codes 27361, 27397, 77205]

Until June 30, 2022:
$89.00 first page
$3.00 per additional page

Beginning July 1, 2022:
$91.00 first page
$3.00 per additional page

Standard Pages (8½ x 11)
Documentary Transfer Tax paid or exempt from SB2 and AB1466 fee (stated on first page of document or cover sheet)
[Government Codes 27361, 27397, 77205]

$14.00 first page  
$3.00 per additional page

Double Documents
[Government Code 27361]

$14.00 per additional title
(with SB2 and AB1466 exemption stated on face of document)

Until June 30, 2022:
$89.00 per additional title
(no SB2 or AB1466 exemption)

Beginning July 1, 2022:
$91.00 per additional title
(no SB2 or AB1466 exemption)

Documents Requiring Additional Indexing
[Government Code 27361]
$1.00 per additional
reference indexed
$1.00 each group of
10 names
Combined Documents
[Government Code 27361]

$14.00 per additional title
(with SB2 and AB1466 exemption stated on face of document)

Until June 30, 2022:
$89.00 per additional title
(no SB2 or AB1466 exemption)

Beginning July 1, 2022:
$91.00 per additional title
(no SB2 or AB1466 exemption)

Release of Lien by a Public Agency
[Government Code 27361.3]
$20.00
Survey Monument Fee
[Government Codes 27584, 27585, 27388.1]
[Resolution 10-0900]
$10.00
Maps
[Government Codes 27372, 27361, 27397,
& 27388.1]
$9.00
$2.00 per additional page
Filed Documents (building contracts)
[Government Code 27380]
$6.00
UCC Filings (1 or 2 pages)
[Government Code 12194]

$10.00 each (with SB2 and AB1466 exemption
stated on face of document)

Until June 30, 2022:
$85.00 (no SB2 and AB1466 exemption)

Beginning July 1, 2022
$87.00 (no SB2 and AB1466 exemption)

UCC Filings (3 or more pages)
[Government Code 12194 & 27388.1]

$20.00 each (with SB2 and AB1466 exemption
stated on face of document)

Until June 30, 2022:
$95.00 (no SB2 and AB1466 exemption)

Beginning July 1, 2022
$97.00 (no SB2 and AB1466 exemption)

Notification Fees

Service Fee
Involuntary Lien Notice Notification
[Government Code 27387 & 27297]
$7.00 each

Preliminary Lien Notice Notification
[Government Code 27361]
$35.00 each

Additional Fees

Service Fee
Non-standard page size
(8 ½ x 14 maximum size)
[Government Code 27361]
$3.00 per page
(for every page of document)

PCOR Fee (no PCOR with deed)
[Revenue & Taxation 480.3/Resolution 85-1260]
$20.00

Penalty Print
[Government Code 27361.1]
$1.00 per page 

Taxes

[Revenue & Taxation Code 11911]

Documentary Transfer Tax Rate
County Transfer Tax (per $500.00) *
Includes cities of Cloverdale, Cotati, Healdsburg, Rohnert Park, Sebastopol, Sonoma and Town of Windsor
$0.55
Santa Rosa City Transfer Tax (per $1,000.00) ** $2.00
Petaluma City Transfer Tax (per $1,000.00) ** $2.00

* Minus any loans assumed in the sale.
** Santa Rosa and Petaluma City transfer tax is collected in addition to County transfer tax.
** No exemption for assumed loans.