Skip to Content

Climate Action and Resiliency

Climate Action and Resiliency Division

Climate Town Hall - November 2023

On November 1st, the Climate Action and Resiliency Division held a virtual town hall to update the public on Sonoma County’s response to climate change and to gather input on a plan to achieve the county’s climate and resiliency goals. The event was co-hosted by Supervisor Lynda Hopkins and Supervisor Susan Gorin.

The conversation began with a panel of local leaders, including Barbara Lee, Division Director of the Climate Action and Resiliency Division; Tanya Narath, Director of Climate Program for the Regional Climate Protection Authority (RCPA); and Jane Elias, Energy Section Director for the Bay Area Regional Energy Network (BayREN). Supervisor Hopkins led the group in a discussion about local and regional efforts to address climate change.

The second panel included Climate Action and Resiliency staff presenting on division services, grant opportunities, and the county’s work on creating a Climate Action Plan.

The third panel included experts from several organizations across Sonoma County including FireSafe Sonoma, Sonoma Ecology Center, the Building Decarbonization Coalition, and the Sonoma County Bicycle Coalition. Each panelist spoke of their organization’s efforts toward climate resiliency.

The event concluded with a session seeking thoughts and ideas from the public and input regarding community needs, along with an invitation to provide feedback through a community survey.

Thank you to everyone that participated in the survey.  The results will be posted here when they become available.

The audience of engaged participants submitted over 60 comments and questions via email and during the event. A listing of the questions and responses will be posted here as they become available.

View the recording of the November 2023 Climate Town Hall

Vea la grabación del Ayuntamiento sobre el clima de noviembre de 2023

View the slides from the November 2023 Climate Town Hall