Skip to Content

Department of Human Services

Sonoma County Foster Care

Monthly Information Sessions

Learn more about being a foster parent and get your questions answered. You can:

  • Attend a live Monthly Information Session on Zoom. You'll hear from experienced foster parents, former foster youth and from local agencies that support local foster families, children and teens. Talks are held monthly on Zoom and last about an hour. Call (707) 565-4274 to reserve your space! See below for dates, times and details. 
  • Call or email: (707) 565-4274 or SonomaFosterCare@schsd.org. 
  • Visit RaiseAChild for information about events being offered.
  • Contact one of the local agencies listed on the home page.

Explore Foster Parenting 2022 Calendar
Events are 6:00-7:30 PM

English Explore Foster Parenting
Monday, April 25
Monday, May 23
Monday, June 27
Monday, July 25
Monday, August 22
Monday, September 26
Monday, October 24
Monday, November 28
Monday, December 19

Spanish Explore Foster Parenting
Monday, June 13
Monday, August 8
Monday, October 10
Monday, December 12
Hear first-hand from experienced foster parents about what it's like to be a foster parenT, former foster youth about the positive impact of foster parents on young lives, and local agencies that support foster parents and foster children and teens.

Learn about the different types of foster parents, who provide a temporary home as an emergency foster parent or foster parent, Foster parent a child with the potential of adoption, or Rent out a room and act as a mentor to an older foster youth going to school or working.

Call (707) 565-4274 | Email SonomaFosterCare@schsd.org at least three days before the talk to reserve your spot.