Skip to Content
You have
Advisory Council to Area Agency on Aging


senior hands together

AAA – Area Agency on Aging
ACFP – Adult Care Food Program
ADA – Aged and Disabled Adult Medicaid Waiver
ADI – Alzheimer’s Disease Initiative
ADL – Activities of Daily Living
ADRC – Aging and Disability Resource Center
AFA – Ambassadors for Aging
AHCA – Agency for Health Care Administration
ALF – Assisted Living Facility
AoA – Administration on Aging (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services)
APS – Adult Protective Services
ADRC – Aging and Disability Resource Center
ARRA – American Recovery and Reinvestment Act
C4A – California Association of Area Agencies on Aging
CARES – Comprehensive Assessment and Review for Long-Term Care Services
CBSP – Community Based Service Programs
CCE – Community Care for the Elderly
CCRC –Continuous Care Retirement Community
CCTP – Community Based Care Transitions Program
CDC – Consumer Directed Care
CDL – California Drivers License
CDSS – California Department of Social Services
CIRTS – Client Information and Registration Tracking System
CMIPS – Case Management Information and Payroll System for the IHSS Program
CMS – Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (formerly Health Care Financing Administration)
CMSP – County Medical Services Program
COA – Council on Aging
COLA – Cost of Living Adjustment
CWDA – California Welfare Directors Association
DCF – Department of Children and Families
DHS – California Department of Health Services
DOT – Department of Transportation
DOEA – Department of Elder Affairs
ECO – Emergency Coordinating Officer
EBT – Electronic Benefit Transfer
EDD – Economic Development Department
EHEAEP – Emergency Home Energy Assistance for the Elderly Program
ESF – Emergency Support Function
FY – Fiscal Year
FFY – Federal Fiscal Year
GA – General Assistance
GIS – Geographic Information System
HCBS – Home and Community-Based Services
HCE – Home Care for the Elderly
HHS – U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
HIPAA – Health Insurance Portability and Accessibility Act
HMO – Health Maintenance Organization
HSD – Human Services Department
I & A/R – Information and Assistance / Referral
IADL – Instrumental Activities of Daily Living
ICP – Institutional Care Program
LTC – Long Term Care
LTCOP – Long-Term Care Ombudsman Program
LTSSP – Long Term Services and Supports Program
MBOA – Medicare Beneficiary Outreach and Assistance Program
MFOP – “My Favorite Older Person” Essay Contest
MIPPA – Medicare Improvements for Patients and Providers Act
MIS – Management Information System
N4A – National Association of Area Agencies on Aging
NAMI – National Alliance on Mental Illness
NASUAD – National Association of States United for Aging and Disabilities
NFCSP – National Family Caregivers Support Program
NSIP – Nutrition Services Incentive Program
OAA – Older Americans Act
OCA – Older Californians Act
OAG – Office of the Attorney General
OVW – Office on Violence Against Women
PACE – Program of All Inclusive Care for the Elderly
PPEA – Program Planning and Evaluation Analyst
PPSC – Petaluma Peoples Services Center
PSA – Planning and Service Area
RCFE – Residential Care Facility for the Elderly
RFP – Request for Proposals
SCSEP – Senior Community Service Employment Program
SMP – Senior Medicare Patrol
SNAP – Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program
SNF – Skilled Nursing Facility
SPGO – State Public Guardianship Office
SSA – Social Security Administration
SSD – Social Security Disability
SSDI – Social Security Disability Income
SSI – Supplemental Security Income
SUA – State Unit on Aging
USDA – United States Department of Agriculture
VDHCBS – Veterans Directed Home and Community Based Services Program
VOCA – Victims of Crime Act
VSO – Veterans Service Officer
WIA – Workforce Investment Act
WIB – Workforce Investment Board
YTD – Year to Date