

Human Services Department Representative: Michelle Bendyk, Tenant Representatives: Judith Morgan, Nicky McDermott 1<sup>st</sup> District: Vacant | 2<sup>nd</sup> District: Jake Mackenzie (Chair) | 3<sup>rd</sup> District: Chris Borr 4<sup>th</sup> District: Teddie Pierce | 5<sup>th</sup> District: Linda Garcia | Executive Director: Michelle Whitman

# Sonoma County Community Development Committee Regular Meeting Concurrently with the Cities & Towns Advisory Committee

Wednesday, June 21, 2023 1440 Guerneville Road, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 10:0 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

### **Meeting Minutes**

Approved August 16, 2023

### 1. Call to Order and Roll Call

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by Chair Mackenzie; Community Development Commission (CDC) staff initiated the roll call:

Community Development Committee Members Present

Jake Mackenzie, Chair (2<sup>nd</sup> District) Teddie Pierce (4<sup>th</sup> District) Linda Garcia (5<sup>th</sup> District) Michelle Bendyk (Human Services Department Representative) Judy Morgan (Tenant Representative) Nicky McDermott (Tenant Representative) arrived at 10:09 a.m.

<u>Community Development Committee Member Absent</u> Chris Borr, Vice Chair (3<sup>rd</sup> District)

### Vacant Seat

1<sup>st</sup> District

### CDC Staff Present

Michelle Whitman, Executive Director Rhonda Coffman, Community Development Manager Martha Cheever, Housing Authority Manager Tracy Becker, Program Compliance Supervisor Nadia Curiel, Occupancy Supervisor Dot Iriks, Housing Navigator/Special Programs Supervisor Cynthia Meiswinkel, Intake Supervisor Valerie Johnson, Community Development Associate Krista Fotou, Finance Specialist Madison Murray, Senior Community Development Specialist Laurie Dinwiddie, Community Development Specialist Matthew Burns, Administrative Aide Susan Vahlstrom, Executive Secretary

2. Public Comments for Items Not on the Agenda

Duane De Witt

# 3. Approval of April 19, 2023, Meeting Minutes

### Public comments:

Duane De Witt

Teddie Pierce moved to approve the minutes as submitted; seconded by Nicky McDermott.

### <u>Ayes</u>

Jake Mackenzie Teddie Pierce Linda Garcia Judy Morgan Nicky McDermott

# <u>Absent</u>

Chris Borr

# <u>Abstain</u>

Linda Garcia Michelle Bendyk

### Motion passed

# 4. Executive Director's Report

Michelle Whitman reported that on June 9, 2023, the Board of Supervisors approved the recommendation of County Administrator Christina Rivera of an allocation in the FY 2023-24 budget of \$7.7 million for the backbone infrastructure in the Tierra de Rosas project. Chair Coursey committed an additional \$2 million in District infrastructure funding for a total of \$9.7 million. June 15 was the 1-year anniversary of the Mitote Food Court. She reminded the Committee that the CDC will be moving to new office space before next May, when the current lease expires. She gave an update on the Project Homekey projects: Elderberry Commons in Sebastopol is getting ready to start construction to become permanent supportive housing; George's Hideaway in Monte Rio is in the process of becoming ready for occupancy. Michelle thanked the CDC staff for their warm welcome since she started on April 18.

### **Public comments:**

Duane De Witt

# 5. Housing Authority Update

Martha Cheever, Housing Authority Manager, shared a presentation with statistics for Number of Households Housed, Program Growth, Housing Choice Voucher Cumulative Leasing, and Cumulative Annual Funding Spent. She then introduced her four Housing Authority Supervisors and answered questions from Committee members.

# **Public comments:**

Duane De Witt

# 6. Permanent Local Housing Allocation Funding Recommendations

Krista Fotou, Finance Specialist, shared a presentation detailing the FY 2023-24 funding recommendations and answered questions from Committee members.

### Public comments:

Duane De Witt

Linda Garcia moved to approve the staff's recommendations for Permanent Local Housing Allocation funding; seconded by Jake Mackenzie.

<u>Ayes</u>

Jake Mackenzie Teddie Pierce Linda Garcia Michelle Bendyk Judy Morgan Nicky McDermott

### <u>Absent</u>

Chris Borr

# Motion passed

7. Items Board Members Would Like Placed on a Future Agenda None

The meeting was adjourned at 11:31 a.m.