MINUTES COUNTY OF SONOMA COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN

Thursday, June 13, 2024

6:00 PM

Hybrid Meeting

Commissioners Present:

First District: Joanne M. Brown (OAL), Nancy Padian, Haunani Pakaki

Second District: Rebecca Kaykas-Wolff

Third District: Ofra Isler, Ana Diaz-Garcia, Melanie Jones-Carter (Vice-Chair)

Fourth District: Gina Fortino Dickson (Chair)

Fifth District: Jessica Wood, Angie Dillon-Shore, Zobida McCorquodale*

Commissioners Absent:

Second District: Katie Gordon (Leave of absence)

Fourth District: Letitia Hanke

* Commissioner McCorquodale arrived late at approximately 6:08pm

Meeting held in-person only.

1. CALL TO ORDER, ROLL CALL

Meeting called to order at approximately 6:02 p.m. Roll call taken by Chair.

2. PUBLIC COMMENT ON NON-AGENDIZED ITEMS

No Public Comment.

3. 2024 SPIRIT AWARD CEREMONY

Chair Fortino Dickson opened the ceremony with a speech to announce the five outstanding leaders who advocate for equity, diversity, and inclusion. The five recipient of the 2024 Spirit Award are:

District 1: Phyllis Rosenfield's' life work shows her commitment and contribution to the mission of Listening for a Change: to promote understanding and acceptance of human diversity through education, oral history, and the arts.

District 2: Hanan Huneidi is a fierce advocate for the LGBTQIA2S+ community here in Sonoma County. She founded Petaluma Pride and made its work possible. She consistently shows up for other communities as an ally and accomplice.

District 3: Belen Lopez-Grady is a strong woman of color who is currently the Executive Director of North Bay Organizing Project which advocates for the rights of tenants, immigrants, and promotes language justice.

District 4: Marcy Flores' commitment to community change is evident in every area of her life, professional and personal. As executive director of Corazón Healdsburg, a mission-driven human-rights organization, Marcy leads the agency's multiple programs including a bilingual resource center deeply trusted by the Latino community that offers family-centered case management and takes a cradle-to-career approach to education for all ages.

District 5: Lupe Catalan is a powerful advocate for equity, inclusion and belonging. She is a Bilingual Field Representative for District 5 who connected Latinx community members to local boards and commissions, and most recently helped recruit the first monolingual Spanish-speaking commissioner in Sonoma County (IOLERO), setting a precedent for access and inclusion.

4. CONSENT ITEMS

The Commission approved the May 9, 2024 meeting minutes and a letter from the Legislative Ad hoc to be mailed to senators and presidents to support on behalf of the equal rights amendment.

No Public Comment.

Motion: Commissioner Jones-Carter Ayes: 8 Noes: 0
Second: Commissioner Wood Absent: 3 Abstained: 2

Commissioner Hanke was absent. Commissioner Gordon is on leave of absence. Commissioner McCorquodale arrived late. Commissioner Pakaki abstained due to her absence last meeting. Chair Fortino Dickson abstained as Chair. Motion passed.

5. BUSINESS ITEMS

a. Election for Officers were done.

Chair: Commissioner Jones-Carter nominated Commissioner Fortino Dickson for Chair; Fortino Dickson accepted.

Vice Chair: Commissioner Brown nominated Commissioner Jones-Carter; Jones-Carter accepted.

Officer-At-Large: Commissioner Padian nominated Commissioner Brown; Brown accepted.

Motion to approve the slate of officers.

No Public Comment.

Motion: Commissioner Wood Ayes: 9 Noes: 0
Second: Commissioner Diaz-Garcia Absent: 3 Abstained: 1

Commissioner Hanke was absent. Commissioner Gordon is on leave of absence. Commissioner McCorquodale arrived late. Chair Fortino Dickson abstained as Chair. Motion passed.

6. REMINDER ITEMS

a. Chair Fortino Dickson reminded Commissioners to arrive at 8:30am to help and invited the public to attend the CSW Special Breakfast Event on June 19th at Sally Tomatoes at 9am.

7. AGENDA ITEMS FOR JULY 11, 2024 COMMISSION MEETING

a. No agenda items were mentioned for July 11, 2024 Commission meeting.

8. ADJOURNMENT

This meeting was adjourned at 6:42 p.m.