Congratulations to the 2017 Jefferson Awards for Public Service Winners

Jefferson Awards is a national recognition system that highlights public service in America. Sonoma County has adopted it to recognize individuals, nonprofits, board, commissions, or advisory bodies that best demonstrate “Excellence in Community Leadership and Civic Engagement.”

This year's honorees include five individuals and two non-profits: Chris Brokate, Lisa Carreño, Tony Crabb, Richard Dale, Caitlin Cornwall, North Bay Industries, and PDI Surgery Center. Freda Statom, the Executive Regional Director for the Jefferson Awards in the San Francisco Bay Area addressed the Board of Supervisors prior to the presentation.

The recognition ceremony took place on Tuesday, December 12, 2017 at 9.00am at the County of Sonoma Board of Supervisors meeting in the Board Chambers located at 575 Administration Drive, Room 102A, Santa Rosa. The meeting was open to the public.

The nomination period for the 2018 Jefferson Awards will open in June 2018.

The 2017 Jefferson Award Winners

The Jefferson Awards Program is a national recognition system designed to highlight public service in America. The Jefferson Awards began as part of the American Institute for Public Service in 1972.  More information about the national program can be found on the Jefferson Awards website.

The Jefferson Awards Program in Our Community:

  • Locally, the program was adopted by the County of Sonoma Board of Supervisors in order to highlight the value of non-profit organizations, boards, commissions, and advisory bodies, as well as individual efforts for Excellence in Community Leadership and Civic Engagement. 
  • Regionally, several counties and cities along with many non-profit organizations participate by holding their own local programs and submit nominees to the regional competition.
  • The County encourages and applauds existing volunteer recognition programs.  The Jefferson Awards will serve to further highlight the strength of our community and promote engagement in solving community problems. 

The County of Sonoma is proud and grateful to these individuals for their outstanding service to our community.  They exemplify the spirit of the Jefferson Award for Public Service in their Excellence in Community Leadership and Civic Engagement.

Contact Information

Business Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
575 Administration Drive
Room 116 B
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
38.465237, -122.725363

Nomination Information