The Clerk's Office Has Moved!
The County Clerk-Recorder Office is now located at:
585 Fiscal Dr., Room 103, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
The new Clerk-Recorder’s Office will provide essential services for residents in one location – vital records, recording services, land record information, official public records, marriage licenses & ceremonies, and fictitious business names.
The staff of the Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office are forbidden by California legal codes to practice law or provide legal advice; this prohibition includes giving advice about what forms you might need or how you should fill them out.
What is a Process Server?
Process servers deliver legal documents to parties involved in court matters. California process servers must be 18 years old and must not be a defendant, plaintiff, petitioner, respondent or otherwise involved in the case. Process servers registered in California may serve legal documents anywhere in the state.
About being a Process Server
Any person who makes more than 10 services of process within this state during one calendar year, for specific compensation or in expectation of specific compensation, shall file a certificate of registration as a process server with the county clerk of the county in which he or she resides or has his or her principal place of business. Any corporation or partnership that derives or expects to derive compensation from service of process within this state shall also file a certificate of registration as a process server with the county clerk of the county in which the corporation or partnership has its principal place of business.
Persons Exempt From Registration
- Any sheriff, marshal, or government employee who is acting within the course of his or her employment.
- An attorney or his or her employees.
- Any person who is specially appointed by a court to serve its process.
- A licensed private investigator or his or her employees.
To Register as a Process Server
- Complete registration form (available at the County Clerk-Recorder office).
- Live Scan fingerprint records for each registrant on the form.
- Process Server bond in the amount of $2000.00 in the name of the person, partnership or corporation that is registering.
- Pay all applicable fees
- $117.00 for the registration and ID card
- $14.00 for first page of bond and $3.00 each additional page, to record the bond
- Visit the Clerk-Recorder Office in person between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays or Wednesdays between 8:00 am and 3:00 pm with all required documents and valid form of payment for all fees
County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor-Registrar of Voters
County Clerk-Recorder Office
Clerk-Recorder accepts payments by cash, checks, credit or debit cards.