• Certified Marriage Certificate

Marriage Certificates

Important Notice

The staff of the Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office are forbidden by California legal codes to practice law or provide legal advice; this prohibition includes giving advice about what forms you might need or how you should fill them out.

Overview

  • The County Clerk has marriage records for events occurring in Sonoma County from 9/23/1846 to the present
  • We are unable to issue marriages certificates for marriages where the license was purchased someplace other than Sonoma County
  • Fee: $15.00
  • We cannot take payments over the phone
  • A certified copy of the registered license as proof of marriage may be required for legal purposes.
  • A certified copy is not automatically provided; it must be requested and paid for after the ceremony is performed and the license is registered. 

Authorized Individuals to Receive Certified Copies

In an attempt to stop the illegal use of vital records, and as part of statewide efforts to reduce identity theft, a California law (effective January 1, 2010) changed the way certified copies of  marriage certificates are issued.

Certified copies to establish identity can be issued only to authorized individuals, as defined in Health and Safety Code103526(c).

All others will be issued Certified Informational Copies that are not valid to establish identity, and contain a legend on the face of the document that states, "Informational, Not a Valid Document to Establish Identity."

In the case of public marriage records, the law describes an authorized person as:

  • A parent, legal guardian, child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant
  • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order (a certified copy of the court order must be included with request)
  • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business
  • An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant's estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant's estate (if by power of attorney, the power of attorney must be included with request

Confidential marriage records:

  • Only a party to the marriage, (or a party entitled to receive a copy as a result of a court order) may receive a certified copy of a confidential marriage license.
  • The existence of a confidential marriage may be verified by the County Clerk to any other party upon completion of an application and payment of a $15.00 research fee.

How to Request a Certified Copy of a Marriage Certificate

In Person:

  • Applications are available in the office
  • Applicant does not need to have signature notarized for in-person request

Sonoma County Clerk's Office
La Plaza West Building
2300 County Center Drive, Suite B-177
Santa Rosa, California 95403
Phone: (707) 565-3800

For Mail or Online Applications

  • The sworn statement must be notarized and included with your application
  • If the notarized statement sworn to under penalty of perjury is not included with your application, it will be rejected as incomplete and it will be returned to you without being processed. 
  • Note: Any member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of a state or local government agency, as provided by law, who orders a copy of a record to which subdivision (a) applies in conducting official business may not be required to provide the notarized statement required by subdivision (a).

Online Orders:

  • For convenience, Sonoma County has partnered with an independent company, VitalChek Network, Inc., through which an order may be processed.
  • VitalChek can be reached through its website, www.vitalchek.com.
  • All major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® and Visa®
  • Additional fees are charged by VitalChek for using this service.

By Mail:

  • Check or money order from bank or post office (made payable to the Sonoma County Clerk) only to:

Sonoma County Clerk's Office
2300 County Center Drive
Suite B-177
Santa Rosa, California 95403

Sonoma County Clerk

William F. Rousseau

County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor-Registrar of Voters

Business Hours
Monday – Tuesday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Thursday – Friday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Note: Please arrive at our office by 4:00 PM Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays and by 3:00 PM Wednesdays to ensure adequate time to complete the application process.

Address

County Clerk

2300 County Center Drive
Suite B177
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
38.465768, -122.725125

Payment Information

Payment Options
Clerk-Recorder accepts payments by cash, checks, credit or debit cards.

Application For Certified Marriage Certificate

Related Agencies

List of agencies commonly needed by people contacting the County Clerks Office.

Related Agencies
Information for Businesses, Jury Service, Traffic Fines, Divorce, Change of Name, Legal Forms, Legal Information, Senior Services

Public Records Search

Search Online Index of Sonoma County Public Records
Search Our Online Index of Public Records: Official Public Records, Fictitious Business Names, Professional Registrations, CEQA Filings

 

Some content on this page is saved in alternate format. To view these files, download the following software.

Windows Media Player   Windows Media® Player for Windows, Flip4MAC for MAC OSX
Compressed ZIP Archive   WinZip® for downloading compressed files
Return to top of page
Return to top of page