Department of Emergency Management Sonoma County


The Department of Emergency Management is the lead agency for the Sonoma County Operational Area. The Sonoma County Operational Area consists of nine incorporated cities (Cloverdale, Cotati, Healdsburg, Petaluma, Rohnert Park, Santa Rosa, Sebastopol, Sonoma, and the Town of Windsor), Sonoma State University, the Sonoma County Junior College District, and other special districts within the county's geographical boundary.

Under the State of California's Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS), the Operational Area is the primary level of coordination for response and recovery activities following an emergency or disaster. The Department of Emergency Management provides the umbrella under which all response agencies may function in an integrated fashion.

The Department's Staff Includes

  • Department Director
  • Deputy Director
  • Deputy Emergency Services Coordinators
  • Administrative Aide
  • Community Alert and Warning Manager
  • Community Preparedness Program Manager
  • Department Program Manager
  • Administrative Services Office
  • Department Secretary
  • Volunteer positions including Auxiliary Communication Service Chief Radio Officer and Preparedness Training Coordinator

This staff is responsible for all emergency management services in the Sonoma County Operational Area.

There is strong political support from the County Board of Supervisors, the County Administrative Officer, the various city councils and city managers, school and fire boards, and special district associations.

Contact Information

Christopher Godley, Director
Business Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
2300 County Center Drive
Suite 220 B
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
38.46229, -122.725377

SoCo Emergency website


Sonoma County Emergency and Preparedness Information