Sonoma County Cannabis Program

Health Permit for Edible Medical Cannabis Product Manufacturing Site

Return to Cannabis Permits

Environmental Health issues health permits, provides inspection services, and conducts other educational and enforcement activities for edible product manufacturing sites.

A person or business wanting to open and operate an edible product manufacturing site in the unincorporated areas of Sonoma County must submit an application for a health permit to Environmental Health.

Important

Applicants should contact the Permit Sonoma (formerly PRMD) for land use and zoning requirements for locating an edible medical cannabis product manufacturing site in the unincorporated areas of Sonoma County.

If a proposed site is located within city limits, an applicant should contact the appropriate city planning department for applicable laws and requirements pertaining to medical cannabis.

Applicants should also contact other county and city agencies regarding requirements for a business license, fire prevention, and building permits.

The Permit Process

Although edible medical cannabis products are not defined as a food in the California Health and Safety Code, Environmental Health will be applying statewide food safety standards in the California Retail Food Codeto ensure product safety.

Step 1: Submit a plan review application.

Download the Medical Cannabis Manufacturing Site Plan Review Packet (PDF: 2.36 Mb)

Edible product manufacturers may begin the plan review process concurrent with the land use permit process at Permit Sonoma (PRMD).

By web form: Contact Us
By phone: (707) 565-6565

An on-site review will be required to verify the current site meets requirements.

Timelines will be established for compliance based on the health and safety risks associated with the site requirements. 

Step 2: Complete a construction inspection.

Once a plan review application is approved and an applicant has finished any necessary improvements to the property, Environmental Health will conduct an on-site construction inspection. 

Step 3: Apply for a health permit.

When step 1 and step 2 are completed, you may submit an application for a health permit. Please note that a site cannot operate without an approved health permit.

Download the Medical Cannabis Health Permit Application (PDF: 63.5 Kb)

Step 4: Receive an opening inspection.

An opening inspection will be conducted by Environmental Health within 30 days of the permit being issued. Routine inspections will be conducted twice per year utilizing the California Retail Food Code. Inspections will cover proper edible medical cannabis product handling and storage, general cleanliness, employee health and hand washing, facility maintenance, and other safety issues. 

You may also sign up for Sonoma County Cannabis updates:

Sign Up for Sonoma County Cannabis Updates

Food Handler Card Requirement

Employees who are involved in the preparation, storage, or service of edible medical cannabis products will be required to obtain a food handler card after successful completion of an approved training course and examination from an approved food handler course provider:

Food Handler Card

Fees

Medical Cannabis Fee DescriptionAmount
Hourly Rate$200
Dispensary - Prepackaged Edibles/Limited-Potentially Hazardous Edible Products - No Preparation$3,364
Dispensary - Prepackaged Edibles/Non-Potentially Hazardous Edible Products - No Preparation$2,883
Product Manufacturing - Non-Potentially Hazardous Edible Products - Full Preparation$4,004
Dispensary - Site Review (+ hourly rate after 3 hours)$601
Product Manufacturing - Site Review (+ hourly rate after 3 hours)$801
Dispensary - Plan Review/Construction Inspection (+ hourly rate after 8 hours)$1,602
Product Manufacturing - Plan Review/Construction Inspection (+ hourly rate after 8 hours)$2,002
Product Label Review/Consultation (+ hourly rate after 1 hour)$200
Consultation Services - (+ hourly rate after 1 hour)$200
Violation Reinspection (+ hourly rate after 1 hour)$400
Office Hearing (+ hourly rate after 1 hour)$601

Contact Information

Public Health Division
County of Sonoma
Business Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Address
Office Location
625 5th Street
Santa Rosa, CA 95404
38.44178, -122.7158781