Official recovery information for Sonoma County fires:  SonomaCountyRecovers.org »
  • Marriage Licenses

Deputy Marriage Commissioner

Important Information

The staff of the Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office are forbidden by California legal codes to practice law or provide legal advice; this prohibition includes giving advice about what forms you might need or how you should fill them out.

The Clerk's Office Has Moved!

Clerk's Office has moved!The County Clerk-Recorder Office is now located at:
585 Fiscal Dr., Room 103, Santa Rosa, CA 95403

The new Clerk-Recorder’s Office will provide essential services for residents in one location – vital records, recording services, land record information, official public records, marriage licenses & ceremonies, and fictitious business names.

The Deputy Marriage Commissioner for a Day Program

Do you have a friend or family member whom you would like to have perform your marriage ceremony? If so, we may be able to assist you.

Pursuant to section 401(a) and (b) of the California Family Code, the County Clerk, who is designated as the Commissioner of Civil Marriages for Sonoma County, may at his or her discretion appoint Deputy Marriage Commissioners to perform civil marriage ceremonies.

Prior to the marriage ceremony, the parties to the marriage must purchase a marriage license, and the following conditions must be met by the person requesting appointment as a Deputy Marriage Commissioner for an Occasion:

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Must mail or FAX a completed application to attend a training class and be appointed Deputy Marriage Commissioner for an Occasion to:

Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder       
585 Fiscal Dr., Room 103      
Santa Rosa, CA 95403 
FAX: (707) 565-3957

  • Classes are offered Tuesday afternoons and Friday mornings

Applications must be submitted at least two days prior to the date of the training class/appointment requested.

Applications are available on our website and at the Clerk-Recorder Office.

The Person Requesting Appointment Must

  • Appear in person on the appointment date and time
  • Provide valid photo identification
  • Pay the $133.00 fee
  • Attend a training class (approximately 45 minutes in length) during which he/she will receive instructions on California's requirements for performing a marriage ceremony.
  • The applicant will be sworn in as a Deputy Marriage Commissioner for the upcoming marriage.

Contact Information

William F. Rousseau

County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor-Registrar of Voters

Business Hours
Monday – Tuesday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM – 4:00 PM
Thursday – Friday
8:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Note: Document processing and fee transactions end 30 minutes prior to closing

Address

County Clerk-Recorder Office

585 Fiscal Drive

Room 103

Santa Rosa, CA 95403
38.4657196, -122.7277883

Active Scams

Read About Current Scams

Scam Alert!

Active scams for services that are offered at our office for low or no cost!

Marriage Forms

Download Forms

Payment Information

Payment Options
Clerk-Recorder accepts payments by cash, checks, credit or debit cards.

 

Some content on this page is saved in alternate format. To view these files, download the following software.

Windows Media Player   Windows Media® Player for Windows, Flip4MAC for MAC OSX
Compressed ZIP Archive   WinZip® for downloading compressed files
Return to top of page
Return to top of page